McKnight Foundation | December 3, 2019

Isacoff receives McKnight Memory and Cognitive Disorders Award

The McKnight Endowment Fund for Neuroscience has selected four projects to receive the 2020 Memory and Cognitive Disorders Awards. The awards will total $1.2 million over three years for research on the biology of brain diseases, with each project receiving $300,000 between 2020 and 2023. The Memory and Cognitive Disorders (MCD) Awards support innovative research […]

Berkeley News | November 26, 2019

Schaffer and Ivry elected fellows of the AAAS

Five Berkeley faculty members have been named fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), an honor bestowed upon the society’s members by their peers. The five are among 443 members awarded the honor because of their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. Founded in 1848, the […]

Berkeley Neuroscience News | October 30, 2019

Postdocs Delevich and de Jong win NARSAD Young Investigator Grants

Congratulations to Berkeley Neuroscience postdoctoral fellows Kristen Delevich (Wilbrecht lab) and Johannes de Jong (Lammel lab) for being awarded 2019 NARSAD Young Investigator Grants from the Brain & Behavior Research Foundation! The Young Investigator Grants provide up to $35,000 per year for two years for promising early-career researchers studying topics broadly related to mental illness. […]

Society for Neuroscience | October 19, 2019

Yartsev wins a Janett Rosenberg Trubatch Career Development Award

Michael Yartsev, PhD, assistant professor in the department of bioengineering and the Helen Wills Neuroscience Institute at the University of California, Berkeley, applies cutting-edge neural techniques to bats to understand how brain circuits mediate spatial and social behaviors; two specialized functions of bats. His lab also studies the vocalization system of bats to understand the […]

Society for Neuroscience | October 19, 2019

Knight wins Award for Education in Neuroscience

CHICAGO — The Society for Neuroscience (SfN) has announced that Sabine Kastner, MD, PhD, professor of psychology and neuroscience at Princeton University and Robert Knight, MD, professor of psychology and neuroscience at the University of California, Berkeley, will receive this year’s Awards for Education in Neuroscience. The award honors individuals who have made outstanding contributions […]

Molecular & Cell Biology News | October 17, 2019

Lammel receives a 2019 One Mind Rising Star Award

Congratulations to MCB Assistant Professor of Neurobiology Stephan Lammel on receiving the 2019 One Mind – Janssen Rising Star Translational Research Award In Honor of the Late Jeffrey S. Nye, MD, PhD! One Mind seeks to guide, support, and facilitate promising and collaborative brain research in order to provide patients suffering from brain diseases and injury better, […]

Molecular & Cell Biology News | October 14, 2019

Bautista receives 2019 NIH Director’s Transformative Research Award

Congratulations to MCB Professor of Cell and Developmental Biology Diana Bautista on receiving a 2019 NIH Director’s Transformative Research Award! Established in 2009, the award supports exceptionally innovative, high-risk, and/or unconventional research projects that have the potential to create or overturn fundamental paradigms or otherwise have an unusually broad impact.

Berkeley News | September 5, 2019

Markita Landry selected as a Bakar Fellow

Seven University of California, Berkeley, faculty scientists with novel ideas and an entrepreneurial spirit have been named to the 2019-20 cohort of Bakar Fellows, an honor that gives the fellows the money and time to translate their laboratory breakthroughs into technologies ready for the marketplace.

Molecular & Cell Biology | June 19, 2019

Adesnik and Brohawn named 2019 Rose Hills Innovators

Congratulations to MCB Associate Professor Hillel Adesnik, and MCB Assistant Professors Gloria Brar and Stephen Brohawn on being named 2019 Rose Hills Innovators! The program, launched in 2014 and established with generous support from The Rose Hills Foundation, supports distinguished early-career faculty in the STEM fields. The program focuses efforts on strengthening the endeavors of UC Berkeley researchers by providing seed support […]