Faculty

Namesort descending Department Research interests Email
Annaliese Beery Integrative Biology, Neuroscience

Mechanisms supporting affiliative social behavior between peers; neuroendocrinology of complex behavior

abeery@berkeley.edu
Bob Zucker Neuroscience

Mechanisms underlying regulation of synaptic transmission

zucker@berkeley.edu
Bruno Olshausen Optometry, Neuroscience

Computational models of sensory coding and visual perception

bolshausen@berkeley.edu
Dan Feldman Neuroscience

Sensory processing and plasticity in the somatosensory cortex

dfeldman@berkeley.edu
Daniela Kaufer Integrative Biology

Molecular mechanisms of brain plasticity in response to stress and neurological insults

danielak@berkeley.edu
David Feinberg Neuroscience

 MRI technology development, mapping columnar and visual circuitry, modeling neurovascular coupling

david.feinberg@berkeley.edu
David Foster Neuroscience

Encoding of spatial memory and navigation toward rewards by neural ensembles in the hippocampus

davidfoster@berkeley.edu
David Presti Neuroscience

How psychoactive substances contribute to understanding of the connection between physical processes in the brain and the psychology of mental states (the mind-body problem)

presti@berkeley.edu
Doris Tsao Neuroscience

How the brain builds a model of the visual world

dortsao@berkeley.edu
Ehud Isacoff Molecular and Cell Biology, Neuroscience

Mechanisms of ion channel function, synapse development, plasticity, and neural circuit function

ehud@berkeley.edu
Frédéric Theunissen Neuroscience

Perception of complex sounds

Theunissen@berkeley.edu
Gerald Westheimer Neuroscience

Perceptual learning in spatial visual tasks

gwestheimer@berkeley.edu
Gül Dölen Neuroscience and Psychology

Circuit and synaptic mechanisms of social cognition. 

Helen Bateup Neuroscience, Molecular and Cell Biology

Molecular basis of synapse and circuit changes associated with epilepsy and autism

bateup@berkeley.edu
Hillel Adesnik Neuroscience

Neural basis of sensation, perception, and action

hadesnik@berkeley.edu
Jack Gallant Neuroscience

 Identifying cortical maps to discover how the brain represents information about the world and its own mental states

gallant@berkeley.edu
John Flannery Optometry, Neuroscience

Gene therapies for inherited retinal degenerations

flannery@berkeley.edu
Joni Wallis Neuroscience

Neuronal mechanisms underlying high-level cognitive and behavioral processes

wallis@berkeley.edu
Kevin Weiner Neuroscience, Psychology

Models to explain how brain structure and function contribute to measurable behaviors (e.g. face perception)

kweiner@berkeley.edu
Lance Kriegsfeld Psychology, Neuroscience

Brain and endocrine regulation of circadian rhythms

kreigsfeld@berkeley.edu
Linda Wilbrecht Psychology, Neuroscience

Experience dependent plasticity and the development of circuits involved in value based decision making

wilbrecht@berkeley.edu
Markita Landry Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Exploiting nanomaterials to probe and characterize complex biological systems at the nano-scale; nanosensors for brain chemistry

landry@berkeley.edu
Marla Feller Neuroscience

 Functional development and organization of neural circuits in the retina

mfeller@berkeley.edu
Michael DeWeese Optometry, Neuroscience

Neural mechanisms underlying auditory processing and selective attention in the cerebral cortex and artificial neural networks

deweese@berkeley.edu
Michael Silver Optometry, Neuroscience

Neurophysiological and neurochemical substrates of human visual perception, attention, and learning

masilver@berkeley.edu
Michael Yartsev Neuroscience, BioEngineering

Neural basis of complex spatial and acoustic behaviors

myartsev@berkeley.edu
Na Ji Physics, Neuroscience

Novel imaging methods to understand the brain

jina@berkeley.edu
Preeya Khanna Neuroscience, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

Neural basis of dexterous motor skills and neurotechnology for restoring and rehabilitating movement

pkhanna@berkeley.edu
Richard Ivry Psychology, Neuroscience

Cognition and action, with an emphasis on how people select actions, learn skills, and produce coordinated movements

ivry@berkeley.edu
Richard Kramer Neuroscience

Novel chemical reagents for non-invasive optical sensing and manipulation of ion channels and synapses

rhkramer@berkeley.edu
Robin Ball Molecular and Cell Biology, Neuroscience rwball@berkeley.edu
Stephan Lammel Neuroscience

Midbrain dopamine circuits in reward-based behaviors and pathological changes in addiction, depression and schizophrenia

lammel@berkeley.edu
Steve Brohawn Molecular and Cell Biology, Neuroscience

Molecular basis of sensory transduction and electrical signaling, especially mechanosensation

brohawn@berkeley.edu
William Jagust Neuroscience

 Anatomic, biochemical, and neurochemical bases of brain aging and dementia

jagust@berkeley.edu
Yang Dan Neuroscience

Neural circuits controlling sleep; mechanisms of executive control

ydan@berkeley.edu
Yvette Fisher Neuroscience

 Flexibility of neural circuits for spatial navigation

yfisher@berkeley.edu

Neuroscience Faculty